Letters from Ukraine

Poetry International Online

Letters from Ukraine

This week, Russian troops invaded Crimea. Putin claims this invasion is an effort to protect the Russian-language population of the peninsula from Ukrainian nationalists.

I was born in the former USSR, and my home town, Odessa, is now a part of Ukraine. I came to the USA when I was sixteen, but kept in touch with family and friends in the region. However, rather than using this space for personal reflection, I want to include some communications I have had with Ukrainians, and particularly poets, in the region, to give voice to those whose world is in turmoil, and to give English speakers a better sense of current events.

— Ilya Kaminsky

First, an email from my cousin Piotr in Odessa:

“Our souls are worried, and we are frightened, but the city is safe. Once in a while some idiots rise up and announce that they are…

View original post 2,404 more words

2 thoughts on “Letters from Ukraine

  1. Thank you for sharing these words. I have recently moved to Sweden and I feel that people here are more aware of worldly things and I see this much different from how I would have if I was still living in the states. News reports can be a wash of words that can get lost. Its nice to see how the people of their country feel.

Leave a Reply

