The State of the Book

President Diabeetus cat demands your attention.

I’ve been teasing you for a while now. And, actually, talking my mouth off so this probably isn’t a surprise to many.

I HAVE AN ANNOUNCEMENT TO MAKE. NOT IN CAPITAL LETTERS THOUGH, THAT’S JUST THIS PART. OH AND A BIT LATER ON.

This announcement is really a two parter. First, I’d like to let you know that Path of Needles, first in my new YA urban fantasy series, is going to be released online this October (2012). It’s going to be professionally edited- I send the manuscript off Monday to a fabulous woman with editing skills galore. It will also have a beautiful cover, which I’m already planning out. And, if there’s enough interest, I’ll also set up a print release later in the fall. That’s enough to get excited about, right?

BUT THAT’S NOT ALL!

Here’s where we get the really exciting news. I am planning a simultaneous website launch to go along with the book. I’m purchasing a very fancy website with all sorts of things for me to play with. It’s not going to be another author-blog site, however. Don’t get me wrong- that will be included. But this site is going to be so much more. Here’s a brief, bulleted list of some of the things you can expect to find:

  • An exclusive song written by the talented Julie Slonecki specifically for this book.
  • Background information on the myths and fairy tales that influenced Path of Needles.
  • Additional content I created that I did not put in the book, including at least one web-exclusive short story and character descriptions.
  • Further content such as a map of NYC showing the locations in the book.

I’m also hoping to hire artists to create sketches- scenes from the novel, character drawings, etc. Pretty much whatever they can offer. For this, I’m willing to pay between 10-50$, depending on the size/scale of the art. As a result, there will also be an ‘About the Artists’ page where you can learn more about the people who contributed to the Path of Needles website. So in exchange for their art, artists will get money, some good press, and the offer of my writing skills should they ever need them in the future.

It’s a big project, folks, and I have a lot to get done before the fall (and time seems to be speeding up. What the hey!?!).

So basically, get excited. I’m going to look to you guys to check out the site, maybe drop a link here and there once it’s up and running. I promise, I’ll do everything in my power to make it one of the most awesome things you’ll see this year.

Two additional notes: Yes, I am still looking for an agent. Also, if there are any artists out there who’d like to make a buck and participate in something dynamic, original, and supercalifragalisticexpialidocious, drop me a line. You can reach me by commenting below, on my Facebook page, or by email at kollefh11@mail.wlu.edu.

Let’s make this great. I see this as a chance to do something amazing. And if it flops? Well, it will be a hell of a lot of fun.

PS: Keep a lookout on my blog over the next few weeks- I’ll be releasing teasers, and excerpts from the book.

3 thoughts on “The State of the Book

  1. /waves
    Hi! Working on finishing up your book now. It’s so exciting to be working with you on this! I can’t wait to see the cover, and I’d love to post something on my blog as a promo for you (cover reveal, new release, guest post – whatever!).
    Ok, back to work now!

Leave a Reply

